the “one lovely blog award”

 

the lovely paperbutterfly nominated me for this award. she is a very talented writer and an asset to the WordPress community. i sincerely appreciate her nominating me. if you haven’t already read her stuff, you should! 🙂 this is my first time doing this blogger award business, so hopefully i do this process correctly!

the requirements:
– thank and link the person(s) who nominated you
– list the rules and display the award
– share 7 facts about yourself
– nominate 15 other blogs
– comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated

the seven facts:
1) i hate icebreakers (the “let everyone get to know each other” activities)
2) i am about to begin my fourth year in college
3) i skipped kindergarten
4) buffy the vampire slayer is my favorite show
5) i have bungee jumped
6) my first time leaving the u.s. was when i studied abroad in costa rica
7) i love dancing although i can’t do it well

nominees (listed in no particular order):
1) A Monsoon of Words
2) The Writer Girl’s Diary
3) Summer Surprises
4) Harsh Reality
5) Life in 100 Words
6) Christina Tesoro
7) Fiery Tail Imagery
8) phonaesthetica
9) boy with a hat
10) girl in the hat
11) Girl, Interrupted
12) Bridgette Tales
13) Essie Does Summer
14) Cosette’s Words
15) Little Secrets (the blog of one of my best friends)

all of these blogs are wonderful. they have all intrigued me and feature amazing talent. 🙂

43 thoughts on “the “one lovely blog award”

  1. I hate “ice-breakers” too >_> Last time I went to one was at the beginning of grad school. It was so awkward and painful XD I’m not fond of group activities when I don’t know anyone. That’s really cool that you have bungee jumped 😀 I’m too scared to ever try :$ It’s something I have never wanted to do. Splash Mountain at Disneyland is enough to satisfy me for years, lol.

    • Exactly! I’m so awkward with them too. I especially have trouble with the “two truths and a lie” exercise or the “say something quirky about yourself”. It’s hard to come up with things on the spot! Haha, it’s strange because bungee jumping wasn’t on my bucket list, either. The opportunity was there though, and the company I did it with didn’t have any accidents before. So I figured, why not? Also, I love Splash Mountain! It’s so fun 🙂

      • I actually went to a group meeting for people with Ehlers Danlos and there were so many awkward moments. I don’t want to try again :$ I looked into meeting with a local writing critique group but I’m a bit worried it will be awkward. Although I can always just keep rereading my manuscript if awkwardness ensues XD I enjoy meeting with people if I know everyone well, or just meeting with one or two friends. But in a room of strangers I feel so alone. I think most people love splash Mountain. I remember when I was a kid we went to Disney World, and my mother was terrified of Splash Mountain. We finally convinced her to go on it. Now I’m an adult and I don’t want to go on it. I went to Six Flags as a preteen and to Universal Studios where I rode their Jurassic Park ride. I kept trying to prove to myself that if I kept doing it it would get fun, but it didn’t XD So I’m just like my mom now, lol.

      • Oh gosh, maybe it was awkward because everyone was meeting each other for the first time. Things like that tend to be really awkward for me too. I notice that I am able to express myself better in smaller groups, but sometimes that’s also a challenge for me. To help me with meeting new people, I have a personal mantra “positive minds for positive vibes”. It’s pretty cheesy but it’s reminded me to remain positive no matter what. I hope that your meeting goes well and that they are helpful. 🙂 Also, about the rollercoasters–I love them! But they aren’t for everyone, definitely. Good thing you’ve at least tried them 🙂 My favorite ride in Disneyland is the Hollywood Tower of Terror. I’ve also been to Universal Studios once and I remember that Jurassic Park ride. It was so fun!

  2. This is the perfect webpage for anybody who wants
    to understand this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you
    (not that I really would want to…HaHa). You definitely put
    a new spin on a subject that’s been written about for years.
    Excellent stuff, just great!

  3. Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I
    could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  4. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out
    pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start.

    Do you have any tips or suggestions? Many thanks

    • It’s not that hard! I’ve changed the set up of my blog a few times already throughout the years. I would say try to build relationships with other bloggers by reading, commenting, and supporting what they do. What goes around comes around! 🙂

  5. It’s actually a cool and helpful piece of information. I’m satisfied that
    you shared this useful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

  6. I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you’ve
    hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that not enough men and women are
    speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy that I found this in my hunt for something concerning this.

  7. Great site you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics talked about here?

    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get suggestions from other
    knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Kudos!

    • I’m actually looking for other bloggers who discuss similar things, too! I haven’t come across many others yet. I mostly read literature and other writings related to what I write about–but if you happen to find other bloggers, please let me know. I would really appreciate it. 🙂

  8. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my
    newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like
    this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look
    forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

