aleigha

you’re a fast learner–you’re only 5
and you know that beauty
is the best compliment you can give. you’ve
learned that white women should be the
subject of your desire because they are–
princess elsa is stamped on your pink
light-up tennis shoes and her pale, delicate,
features adorn your fluffy purple blanket
that warms you while you sleep.

aleigha, how can i prepare you
for a racially charged world? where
you’ll fight battles for your dark curly hair
and deep skin? how do you prepare to win a war
against yourself?

5 thoughts on “aleigha

  1. This makes me think of how I felt growing up…inadequate somehow. Inferior. I guess it’s something a lot of people all over the world have to deal with 😦 I’m trying my best as an aunt to teach my nieces to love themselves as they are even if it means not conforming to society’s standards of beauty.

    • That’s great that you’re trying to show your nieces how to love themselves! I believe its important for kids to be exposed to diverse role models so they can see beauty in them and in themselves. It is unfortunately, too, a common phenomenon everywhere.

  2. I was just reading ‘The diary of a young girl’ and wondering if racism is still a problem out there. Your words come as an eye-opener Julie 😦
    I would tell beautiful Aleigha that no matter what the world might ever think, she would be the prettiest girl in the world when she asks those who know her. I am sure that she’ll be as strong as you 🙂

Leave a Reply

