the liebster award

The talented Nadia Darwesh from The Writer’s Girl Diary nominated me for the Liebster Award 🙂 Nadia is an honest, down-to-earth blogger. She shares her tastes in books, movies, and music (which are on point!!). She also writes beautiful short stories and poetry. Ever since I’ve followed her blog, I’ve read every single post, and I find myself occasionally checking her blog to see if I’ve missed something. If you haven’t already checked out her blog, I recommend you do so 🙂

I am grateful that Nadia feels like my blog is worthy of this award. Thank you so much, Nadia! I sincerely appreciate it. 🙂

In order to receive The Liebster Award, you must be nominated by another reader or blogger. The reader/blogger nominates you because your blog has less than 1000 followers and is awesome! I feel honored to be nominated and I hope to spread the love with my own nominees below. 🙂 

the rules:

– Thank you nominator and post a link to his/her blog.
– Display the award on your blog.
– Answer the 11 questions provided by the nominator.
– Nominate 5-11 blogs which have less than 1000 followers, and let them know they’ve been nominated.
– Make up and post 11 questions for your nominees to answer.
– Post these rules on your blog.

Nadia’s questions and my answers:

1) If you were given a week to travel absolutely anywhere in the entire world, where would you go and why?
I would go to Mexico first because I’ve never been and that is where my mom is from. She is from the state of Zacatecas, so I would stay there and meet my family members. I would love to see the ranch where she grew up even though it’s changed a lot now.

2) Do you embrace conflict of shy away from it?
I sometimes embrace conflict, sometimes I shy away from it. It depends on the person in question and the situation at hand. For instance, I can be confrontational although it may take me time to do so (with friends, family) but with strangers I tend to shy away from conflict. Unless the stranger is being unbelievably rude.

3) Your best childhood read is…
Zahrah the Windseeker. Now, I didn’t read this is my childhood although I wish I did. I was introduced to this beautiful book by a close friend a year ago. It is an easy, quick read—I recommend it to anyone.

4) Tea or coffee?
This often changes… but at the moment it’s coffee. Sweetened and mocha flavored 🙂

5) If you could pick one song to be the theme song of your life, what would it be?
Breathing Underwater by Metric. 🙂

6) What is the most hurtful thing anyone has ever said to you, and why did it hurt so much?
One of the most hurtful things someone had said to me was that I would never amount to anything. It hurt because I expected this person, who I trusted very much, to believe in me—and the person didn’t.

7) If you were to collaborate with another blogger on a project, what would you like for it to be?
Today, I was scrolling through my WordPress feed, and I saw Letters to Cameroon’s Poems for Peace post. I would like to collaborate on a project like that, something that advocates for peace. 🙂

8) How many pets have you had in your life?
I’ve had 8 pets (4 birds, 2 dogs, a rabbit, and a cat). I currently only have a couple of birds and a cat. 🙂

9) Your favorite sport is…
Dancing! All kinds 🙂 Lately I’ve been into dancing Azonto even though I’m terrible.

10) If you could go back in time 5 years and advise your younger self, what would you tell her/him?
5 years ago is when I was 15. It’s crazy how time flies. I would tell myself to stop caring about boys so much. There are more important things to care about.

11) You have a choice to either go back in time to a moment in the past, or go forward to sometime in the future, which would you pick and why?
This question is difficult. After much thought, I’ve decided that I would rather go back in time to a moment in the past. I feel like if I went to a moment in the future, I’d be paranoid about my way of living in the present. But, if I went to the past, I could relive one of my memories, and have it even fresher in my mind.

the nominees (in no particular order):

1) The Paper Butterfly.A sweet, compassionate young woman who chronicles her journey as a writer and as a person with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome and other health related issues. Her posts are informative, personal, and always interesting. I enjoy her fiction writings as well as those about her life.
2) A Monsoon of Words. A lovely blogger who writes about the issues and beauty of the world. She uses wonderful imagery, and her words have touched me. One of my favorite blogs to read.
3) Life in 100 words. I love Minnie’s poetry. They are short, deep, and sincere. Her work sometimes inspires my own.
4) Summer Surprises. This blogger posts every single day about something positive. It’s been a great way to start my day. 🙂
5) Christina Tesoro. Whether it be sharing the poetry of another writer or sharing her own, I love her posts.
6) Crystal Rivera. Such beautiful poetry.
7) Writes and Responsibilities. D.R. Sylvester shares his journey writing an urban fantasy novel. Always a delightful read.
8) Coffee with Noor. She posts daily about her musings, her poetry, different perspectives… I love it.
9) Girl, Interrupted. An awesome writer. Her work is thought provoking and authentic.
10) Fiery Tail Imagery. Photography, conceptual art, digital art, and storytelling…all of which I have enjoyed on her blog.
11) The Sister Wives. Founded by a group of women who share powerful, beautifully written pieces by other women who have suffered from varying kinds of abuse. So far, I’ve found every single post on their blog to be thought provoking.

my questions to the nominees:

What is your favorite board game?
Who/what are your writing inspirations?
How did you start blogging on WordPress?
What is your favorite joke or riddle?
What embarrasses you?
What’s the biggest personal change you’ve made?
Would you rather be hated or forgotten?
If you could try out any job for a day, which job would you like to try?
What’s the best piece of advice you ever heard?
What are some of your favorite books?
What’s your favorite dessert?

I look forward to reading all of your answers 🙂

20 thoughts on “the liebster award

  1. Awwwww! Thank you so much for the nomination ❤ I haven't received this one yet XD I hope you get the chance to visit Mexico! My husband visits Japan every year because all of his family is over there. When we have kids, and they are old enough (I'm not taking a toddler on an international flight!) I want them to go to Japan. I think they should understand their Japanese roots. Boys can be really stupid XD I know I wasted too much time and energy on them when I was a teenager. You change so much as you grow into an adult, that very few relationships stay together. I used to love dancing too 🙂 I can't do it anymore, but I enjoy watching it. I used to practice ballet to pop music because I'm not a huge fan of classical music XD I was never into any sports even though I'm so tall. I alternate in preference between tea and coffee too XD I like it to be really sweet with lots of cream unless it's an herbal tea. I love Tazo Passion iced tea!

    I'm sorry someone told you that you would amount to nothing 😦 They clearly didn't know what they were talking about! It's even more hurtful when these insults come from people we love and trust. It feels like a bitter act of betrayal. I've had people say some pretty bad things to me, but I think the most painful ones came from my mother because I expected her support instead. I hate conflict of any kind. That's why I blocked people in fanfiction that sent me hateful messages without even replying. Although they just created new identities to antagonize me, so I guess it was pointless in the end. I don't regret blocking people though. If they don't like it they shouldn't have been such assholes. The problem is, once I get dragged into conflict, I have a very hard time of staying silent. My mom told me my whole life that I loved to argue. I finally realized I didn't. I hate it, and will go out of my way to avoid it. There are a few exceptions. If someone hurts a friend I tend to speak before I think.

    I love reading answers to these sorts of questions XD Thank you for sharing 🙂 I'll probably do it next week since my sister's wedding is this weekend 😀

    • Your welcome! ❤ I love your blog so much you deserve a mention! That's nice that your husband visits Japan often, as he should 🙂 It would be wonderful for your future kids to go there, too. Boys can be stupid, I agree! I just feel like at the time I was too wrapped up in trying to impress them and things. I didn't pay attention to the things I should have. I do see things very differently as an adult, it's so strange how time changes us. I did ballet in elementary school haha and I've taken some dance classes in college. That's so crazy because i LOVE the Tazo Passion Tea, too! 😀

      Yes, that's true. It does feel like betrayal. But, I shouldn't have taken his words so close to heart at the time (even though it's hard not to). Now I know better. I remind myself to surround myself with people who love and care for me, and to express my own love and care towards myself. I have blocked people in social media though, just because they didn't add anything good to my life. I don't regret blocking them either 🙂

      I'm looking forward to reading your answers as well! The questions were hard to come up with but I hope they are fun to think about and answer 🙂 Ooh, no rush, have fun at your sister's wedding! 😀

  2. You are so sweet!! thank you so much 🙂 I want to reach out and hug you for making my day better ❤
    p.s. i don't really know how to display these awards on my page? (lol i'm an idiot) how do you do that? xxx

    • Anytime! Your blog is really awesome and I just wanna make sure others know about it 🙂 don’t worry, I didn’t know how to display them either at first! But all u have to do is follow all the rules and make a post about it (so include the image, answer the questions, nomiate 5-11 blogs, etc) and that’s it! I think its a great way to let others know about wonderful blogs they may not have heard of. If you have any other questions let me know! 🙂

      • It is confusing at first! You can either go to their blog and copy & paste their URL and leave it like that (I’ve seen other bloggers do this) or you can write the name of the blog, highlight it, click the link tab, and then copy and paste the URL there (when you click link another window pops up and gives you the option to write/paste the link). I hope that’s helpful. If I didn’t explain it well there’s always WordPress forums where other bloggers probably explain it better haha but hopefully you won’t need to do that!

  3. First off, your questions are awesome, so I’ll just go ahead and answer one 😀 Question: Would you rather be hated or forgotten? Answer: I would rather be hated because that would mean I’ve made some sort of impact in a person’s life while being forgotten could mean that your life has made absolutely no difference in the world. Although…it is quite a complicated question which will have me thinking for days 😉
    In other news, I loved your answers! I’ve also been into mocha of late, and I’ve listened to the Metric song and really really like it. I haven’t read Zahrah the Windseeker but it does sound fascinating so I may be looking for a copy for myself one of these days 🙂 I would also like to go to Mexico one day but I think I’d do it more because of history as well as being very fascinated by their culture as a whole.
    I’m glad you answered the questions Julie because you really deserve this ❤ I hope to read loads more of your writing in future.

    • Awh thanks, I’m glad you like my questions 🙂 Ohh, I see what you mean about the being hated rather than forgotten. But at the same time, I’m sure I have forgotten many people in my life who have made a small difference (I believe in the butterfly effect) and because of that I may not give them the appropriate credit. Then again, maybe being forgotten means forgetting everything that we’ve done, too. It is a complicated question. I’ve been going back and forth.
      I’m glad you enjoyed the Metric song 🙂 thanks to your other blog post, I discovered Ribs by Lorde, which I absolutely love! I feel like that song does really capture how many of us at our age are feeling (that transition into adulthood). That song resonated me with so much. I think you will love Zahrah the Windseeker! I know I do. Mexico does have a rich culture and great history–an added bonus 🙂
      Aww that last bit you wrote made me smile. Thank you so much! You have no idea what your support means to me. I also look forward to hearing your interesting musings and stories! 🙂

Leave a Reply

