exotic incantations

my accent carries familiarity and intrusion,
tinged with the folklore of aztec ruins
the conquista failed to bury with the relics
your imperialist nature insists you authenticate.
your mask of curiosity and fascination
hides the suppressed desire
to conquer realities blazing with possibility
and to discover the cultural gems we have preserved
by means of fidelity: the devotion to our pasts, our futures,
and our people. the uncovering of the jewels
we fought so hard to defend ignites
your self-led excursion to a realm we call home.
the frantic itch to find the remains of our past
embedded in our modernity troubles you–
to leave without newfound jewels from your
excavation suggests that our culture is lost and
unknown to us, when in fact, it is only
lost and unknown to you.

4 thoughts on “exotic incantations

  1. This was lovely 🙂 It has a nice flow to it, if that makes sense. Each line flowed into the next. The final lines are powerful and convey a strong message. I hope I”m not too presumptuous here (if I am I’m sorry :$), but I think the message was that Caucasians have many false perceptions of Hispanics, and that we have trivialized your history and struggles. Not only that, but we apply our own worldview to other cultures and expect them to conform to ours. Or maybe I don’t know what I’m talking about :$ I struggle to understand poetry. It’s hard to pick out a favorite line because the whole thing is beautiful. This is definitely one of your best pieces, in my opinion at least ^^

    • I really appreciate the time you take to give me such detailed, thoughtful comments. I don’t think it’s presumptuous to share what you think it’s about, all interpretations are welcome. To be honest, I wasn’t really sure what I was exactly trying to say. I just wanted to talk about how imperialism still exists and one of the forms in which it does. I mentioned the Aztecs because that is part of my ancestry, but I did not intend for the poem to be solely about Latinos because I know others share similar experiences. I was definitely feeling iffy about this piece because I feel like there are so many different layers to it that can be explored. Thank you for reading. 🙂

  2. yooooooo. “the frantic itch to find the remains of our past
    embedded in our modernity troubles you–
    to leave without newfound jewels from your
    excavation suggests that our culture is lost and
    unknown to us, when in fact, it is only
    lost and unknown to you.” ~~resonance

Leave a Reply

