the warrior

looking behind a stained glass window
i sigh. the multitude of realities image
a woman with a spine as strong as tree trunks
and with arms that could embrace the world. i
remember when she squeezed the world too hard
and the oceans poured from her hands and
unprecedented lands cracked between her
fingers. she never touched the world again.
instead she built her shoulders like mountains and
drew illogical symbols of time with fingertips
stained red from the decline of the world
she once held. she looks at her feet and notices that
they’ve become as defying as jellyfish–
i watch as she spins and spins and spins and
screams with a release, a smile, on her face.
we claim the world.

10 thoughts on “the warrior

  1. This was lovely. It had a stream of consciousness feel to it. To be honest, I’m not quite sure what this was about :$ I’m awful at interpreting poetry even though I love the sound of it. I think it is about a girl who is looking at a stain-glass window and the pictures of a woman come to life visually. She imagines (or sees?) a woman creating an imperfect world, and feels her power. Or maybe this interpretation is completely wrong XD Despite my lack of understanding, the last two lines are really powerful. I also loved this bit, “drew illogical symbols of time with fingertips stained red from the decline of the world she once held.” The prose is so beautiful ❤

    The only line that didn't seem to fit was this one, "she looks at her feet and notices that they’ve become as defying as jellyfish–" It was kind of jarring. I'm not even sure why. . . It was just a sharp contrast to the rest of the piece. Maybe? Just my opinion though :$

    • Thank you for your thoughts and input, I really appreciate it! I don’t think it really matters what exactly I was trying to convey because what is most important is what the reader gets from it. I did try something new and I did aim for a stream of consciousness feeling. I see how some of it can be confusing, since I didn’t clarify anything as the piece went on. As for the jellyfish part, I think it was interesting that you mentioned its contrast to the rest of the poem! I didn’t notice it but when I went back to read it, after the jellyfish part, the poem takes on a different energy. It is pretty different from the feel of mountains and tree trunks, haha.
      Once again, thanks for your thoughts and for stopping by. I appreciate getting different perspectives on my writing. 🙂

      • It’s always interesting to see what readers get out of a piece of writing. I remember with my fanfic some would try to analyze and come up with a different meaning than the one I had originally intended. Sometimes their interpretation was better than what I had set out to accomplish XD

        I’m not entirely sure why I didn’t like the jellyfish part. It just kind of made me stop, and I had to reread it again. The flow seemed off if that makes any sense? The rest of it was lovely. But I’m only one person 😛

  2. Awww Julie! I don’t know what’s wrong with me today. This one made me kinda sad too, especially this line:
    i
    remember when she squeezed the world too hard
    and the oceans poured from her hands and
    unprecedented lands cracked between her
    fingers.

    Maybe because it mirrors what I’ve been going through IRL. *sigh* Beautiful as always.

    • It’s okay, sometimes we have days where we feel more sensitive than others. Thank you for your kind words. I think that sometimes we may feel similar to the line that you pointed out. However, we always come out stronger–and at the end she constructs her own world, one that she can claim and feel safe in. I believe that things eventually work out, even if we have to mold things a little differently than we once did.

Leave a Reply

