the snow queen

i thought i could escape her winter breath
with thick insulated jackets, frequent tea-times,
and two socks on each foot–oh, and warm boots don’t always help.
she slicks the paths with her tongue,
draws constellations of snowflakes with her fingers
and whips her long, white hair in our faces. most of the time,
i despise her unexpected visits, the
clarity of her deep-blue skies, the silence
after her storm. she’s like that friend
i like to see is doing well in pictures
but who i can’t spend so much time with. like that person
you crush on from afar—
but that’s where they belong.
afar.

2 thoughts on “the snow queen

  1. I read this a few days ago, and meant to come back and comment, but I had a bad pain flare-up :$ I’m feeling better now and so I’m back ^^ I always feel so under qualified to comment on poetry. I don’t know what makes a good or bad poem, so my comments probably don’t mean much XD
    ]
    Anyway, I enjoyed it quite a bit 🙂 The whole piece was beautiful. It was eloquent without trying too hard to be poetic. My favorite line was definitely this one, “draws constellations of snowflakes with her fingers,” just because I liked the way it sounded. I’m not sure how I feel about the ending. I thought if I came back to it I’d be able to make up my mind, but I still can’t :$ It feels a bit unfinished, and I’m not sure why. Not sure if that makes any sense. .

    • I really appreciate your comment! Thank you for coming back to comment on this poem. 🙂 And don’t feel under-qualified, every opinion matters! Haha, the ending does sound quite different from the rest of the poem and a little abrupt. Thank you for your insights, I’m still trying to learn more about writing stories and poetry so it’s good to hear your thoughts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

