The Bookshelf Tag

Many thanks to The Paper Butterfly for tagging me! I appreciate her thinking of me. Her answers to the questions were an enjoyable read. She also has a wonderful, insightful blog—visit her if you haven’t done so already.

Rules:

Answer the following questions about books, and then tag five other bloggers. You can answer the questions any way you want, whether it’s on your blog, in a video, or a combination of the two. Then let whoever tagged you know when your post is up so they can read it.

Questions:

1) Is there a book you really want to read but haven’t because it’ll make you cry?

No. Crying after a book is extremely rare for me. I expected to cry after reading The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, but I didn’t.

2) Pick one that helped introduce you to a new genre:

Strangely, before Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, I had never read any mystery-thriller type books. After reading Gone Girl, however, I am excited to read more books in that genre. Also, the movie is coming out in the fall (in the U.S.)!

3) Find a book that you want to reread.

I want to reread The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides. It is one of the most haunting, beautiful books I have ever read. It was also made into a movie, one that I also adore (but not as much as the book)!

 

4) Is there a book series you read but wish you hadn’t?

Usually, if I read the first few chapters of a book and it doesn’t grab my attention, I don’t finish it… so I can’t think of a book series that I read and didn’t like. But, I didn’t like reading The White Queen by Philippa Gregory at all. I had read her other books and enjoyed them—and I felt like this one was a disappointment.

5) If your house was burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save?

Hm, I’d probably save my journals. I don’t write in them daily, as I would like to, but they do hold fond memories and have chronicled how I’ve grown as a person. I find it interesting to look back and see how much my way of thought has changed.

6) Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories?

One of my favorites has always been, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, a children’s book. I don’t own this book, but when I thought about fond memories, this book came to mind. I remember reading it when I was young and enjoying every page.

7) Find a book that has inspired you most.

One book that has inspired me the most? It’s such a difficult question because there are many books that have inspired me in multiple ways; some have inspired me to change my own writing style, think about a particular issue, or have expanded my way of thinking. But if I had to narrow it down… I’d pick Don Miguel Ruiz’s The Mastery of Love. I liked his ideas, and I try to apply them to my life today.

8) Do you have any autographed books?

Not yet!

9) Find the book that you have owned the longest.

I have always borrowed books from the library, so I don’t own many books. The first book I purchased for myself was at a used bookstore. Like Water for Chocolate still remains as one of my favorites today. I still need to watch the movie!

10) Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy?

This is not a stand-alone book, but rather a series. Patricia Brigg’s Moon Called is wonderful. I usually don’t read series because some books tend to be disappointing, but I actually love it.

*All photos are from rebloggy.com, bookish.com, allwewantiseverything.wordpress.com, wikimedia.org or ibtimes.com.*

Nominees:

1) The Writer Girl’s Diary

2) Let Us Sail to the Moon

3) A Muslim Latina

4) Crystal Rivera

5) Urban Poetrees

If you haven’t been tagged yet but want to answer these questions, I tag you! I look forward to reading everyone’s responses and adding new books to my reading list. 🙂

14 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Tag

  1. I remember that book, “If You Give A Mouse a Cookie.” There was another one by the same author, “If You Give A Moose a Muffin,” lol. I think we had the moose one and not the mouse, so that’s the one I was familiar with. Although the mouse one is easier to relate to. Not many children have seen a moose, lol.

    I remember, “Like Water for Chocolate.” That was a great book! We had to read it when I was a sophmore along with Lupita Manana. The movie was a bit weird. . . I think the scene that stands out into my mind is when someone turns to flames? I liked the book better, but it’s been so long I don’t remember the movie very well.

    I cry pretty easy, and the video game Final Fantasy 10 had a really sad ending. I didn’t cry. And it felt awkward because I knew I was supposed to, but I didn’t like any of the characters so I just felt weird XD I haven’t read, “A Fault In Our Stars.” But it’s been over-hyped, and I feel like my expectations for it are too high. And I’m pretty familiar with medical stuff and chronic pain. People with cancer often have extremely debilitating chronic pain. I would be disappointed if he wrote the characters like they didn’t have horrible nausea and chronic pain. Since I live with chronic pain on a daily basis, I’m hyper aware of that sort of thing. I don’t think he should have focused on it, but it’s a huge aspect of cancer, pain management. Just my opinion :$

    I’ll have to check out, “Moon Called.” I’m looking to add more fantasy books to my reading list. I haven’t read any thrillers but I developed an unexpected love for Law and Order SVU. I’m on my 4th run through of the whole series XD I just turn it on while I’m doing chores. I’m sad I don’t have my copy of “The Virgin Suicides.” :/ A bunch of my books were stored at my parent’s house. They put it in storage and a heavy rain destroyed them all ;_____;

    Thank you so much for sharing 😀

    • I haven’t read the “If you give a mouse a muffin” one! I’m sure it was a fun read too. I love Like Water for Chocolate. Haha, I haven’t seen the movie yet, but when I do I won’t have such high expectations. About The Fault in Our Stars, I think it is overhyped and my expectations for it were through the roof while I read it, which is probably why I didn’t feel as impacted by it, like others felt. Yeah. As for him including some more about how the characters dealt with their pain, I agree. Maybe he didn’t because it is a YA novel and I’m not sure how he wanted that audience to feel.

      Yes! I hope you enjoy Moon Called. I’m so glad I discovered it because the female protagonist in this series kicks butt! I liked the second book much better than the first, though. I have yet to finish the series! Oh, I’m so sorry that happened to your books! I hope you will be able to get newer and better copies 🙂 And thank YOU for reading and tagging me! It was a fun tag to do. 🙂

  2. Great post! There are so many books you’ve mentioned on your blog that I really want to read! Unfortunately I have no idea where I can get them from around here :/ For example, in this post there is Like Water For Chocolate which from the look of it sounds so good but beats me if I know where to get it. I guess I’ll have to search online, haha 🙂 Otherwise, I cried like a babe after finishing The Fault in Our Stars, how could you not??? It was soooo sad! I’ve read The Virgin Suicides and loved it although I find it tragic that the boys were only brave enough to approach the girls at the end of the book. As for the movie, I watched it so long ago I can’t remember it at all. Would you believe I can’t remember the name of the only Philippa Gregory book I’ve read? Huh. Guess it didn’t make an impression, haha. I like that you’d save your journals in a fire because I’d probably do the same ^^
    Thanks for tagging me, as always I’ve enjoyed reading your answers 🙂 🙂 ❤

    • Aww, I hope you can get ahold of them somehow! If there’s a lending library or bookstore I would check those out. I hope you find them. I know buying books can be quite expensive. And I think I didn’t cry because I was expecting so much out of it due to the hype. Haha, yeah, I use to be into Philippa Gregory but for some reason her later works felt like she didn’t put in too much effort. Of course! I hope you do this tag,, I’d love to read your responses ❤

  3. Pingback: The Bookshelf Tag | A Muslim Latina

  4. Pingback: The Bookshelf Tag! | the writer girl's diary

Leave a Reply

